The Richmond Cup Race: What To Look For

Alex Bowman

NASCAR Cup Series

Next Race: Federated Auto Parts 400

The Place: Richmond Raceway

The Date: Saturday, September 12

The Time: 7:30 p.m. ET

TV: NBCSN, 7 p.m. ET

Radio: MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio

Distance: 300 miles (400 laps); Stage 1 (Ends on Lap 80),

Stage 2 (Ends on Lap 235), Final Stage (Ends on Lap 400)

What To Watch For:

The 2020 season marks the third time the NASCAR Cup Series Playoff’s second race has been held at Richmond Raceway (2018-2020). …

The 0.75-mile track located in Richmond, Virginia is the third track in series history to host the second race of the Playoffs; joining Dover International Speedway (2004-2010) and New Hampshire Motor Speedway (2011–2017). Prior to 2018, Richmond Raceway was the regular season finale for the NASCAR Cup Series from 2004-2017.

A total of 12 different drivers have won the second race of the Playoffs (2004-2019), led by Hendrick Motorsport’s driver Jimmie Johnson with three wins (2005, 2009, 2010); followed by Kyle Busch (2017, 2018) and Matt Kenseth (2013, 2015) with two victories each.

No non-Playoff driver has ever won the second Playoff race in the NASCAR Cup Series.

Since the first NASCAR Cup Series race at Richmond Raceway on April 19, 1953 the 0.75-mile track has hosted 127 series races producing 55 different pole winners and 52 different race winners.

NASCAR Hall of Famers Bobby Allison and Richard Petty lead the series in poles at Richmond with eight each. Petty also leads the series in wins at Richmond with 13 victories (spring 1961, 1967 sweep, fall 1968, fall 1970, 1971 sweep, 1972 sweep, 1973 sweep, fall 1974 and spring 1975). Petty’s 13 wins are the third-most wins by a single driver at a single track in series history behind his 15 wins at Martinsville and North Wilkesboro.

Denny Hamlin, Matt Kenseth and Kevin Harvick lead all active drivers in poles at Richmond with three each.

Kyle Busch leads all active drivers in wins at Richmond with six victories (spring 2009, spring 2010, spring 2011, spring 2012 and spring 2018, Playoff race 2018).

A total of 11 former Richmond Raceway winners are entered this weekend, eight of which are 2020 Playoff contenders – Kyle Busch (six wins), Denny Hamlin (three), Kevin Harvick (three), Martin Truex Jr. (two), Clint Bowyer (two), Joey Logano (two), Kurt Busch (two) and Brad Keselowski (one).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.