What To Look For In Darlington 2 Race

Rush Hour at ISM Raceway

NASCAR Cup Series

The Race: Toyota 500

The Place: Darlington Raceway

The Date: Wednesday, May 20

The Time: 7:30 p.m. ET

TV: FS1, 6:30 p.m. ET

Radio: MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio

Distance: 311.4 miles or 500k (228 laps); Stage 1 (Ends on Lap 60),

Stage 2 (Ends on Lap 125), Final Stage (Ends on Lap 228)

Most Recent Winner: Kevin Harvick

What To Watch For: Darlington Raceway has hosted 117 NASCAR Cup Series races, dating back to 1950. The 117 Cup races have produced 51 different winners, led by NASCAR Hall of Famer David Pearson with 10 victories. Eight of the 51 winners will be active this weekend, led by seven-time series champion Jimmie Johnson with three wins. Kevin Harvick is the most recent winner at Darlington (last Sunday).

Six drivers have posted their first career NASCAR Cup Series win at Darlington Raceway: Johnny Mantz (1950), Nelson Stacy (1961), Larry Frank (1962), Terry Labonte (1980), Lake Speed (1988) and Regan Smith (2011).

The youngest Cup Series Darlington winner is Erik Jones (9/1/2019 – 22 years, 11 months, 2 days) and the oldest series Darlington winner is Harry Gant (09/01/1991 – 51 years, 7 months, 22 days).

A total of 51 different drivers have won the Busch Pole Award at Darlington Raceway in the NASCAR Cup Series. NASCAR Hall of Famer David Pearson leads the series in poles at Darlington with 12. A total of 11 different drivers have won from the pole at Darlington; led by David Pearson with four wins (1971, 1972, 1976 sweep). Kevin Harvick is the only active driver to win from the pole (2014) at Darlington.

The first starting position is the most proficient starting position in the field, producing more winners (20) than any other starting position at Darlington. The outside front row (second-place) has produced the second-most wins (17). The deepest in the field that a race winner has started at Darlington is 43rd by Johnny Mantz in 1950 – the inaugural NASCAR Cup Series event held at the historic raceway.

NASCAR Hall of Famer Dale Earnhardt leads the NASCAR Cup Series in laps led at Darlington Raceway with 2,648 laps led in 44 series starts. Kevin Harvick leads all active NASCAR Cup Series drivers with 740 laps led in 25 starts.

The most laps led in a NASCAR Cup Series race at Darlington Raceway by the race winner was 351 laps of the scheduled 400 laps (87%) by Johnny Mantz on September 4, 1950. He started the race from the 43rd position. The most laps led in a NASCAR Cup Series race at Darlington Raceway by a driver that did not win the race was 284 laps of the scheduled 367 laps (77%) by Kyle Larson on September 2, 2018. The fewest laps led in a NASCAR Cup Series race at Darlington Raceway by the race winner was just the final lap by Ricky Craven on March 16, 2003. He started the race from the 31st position and won.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.