Daytona Xfinity Race Preview

Christopher Bell


t will be hard to top the dramatic photo finish of 2018 with eventual series champion Tyler Reddick edging retiring veteran Elliott Sadler to the checkered flag. But the annual NASCAR Xfinity Series season opener has always proven itself worthy of the hype and interest.

Favorites such as Christopher Bell, Cole Custer, Justin Allgaier and defending series champion Tyler Reddick will battle up-and-comers such as Austin Cindric and series’ newcomer Noah Gragson for the first bragging rights toward a championship trophy. Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series drivers Chase Elliott and Brad Keselowski are entered this weekend as well.

Since an amazing run of four consecutive wins from now-retired Tony Stewart from 2008-2011, there haven’t been any back-to-back Daytona winners and the race has proven itself one of the most exciting events of the whole race calendar.

Tyler Reddick’s win last year is the closest margin of victory in race history – .0004-seconds, a photo finish between Reddick and Elliot Sadler

Dale Earnhardt and Tony Stewart share the record for most wins (seven). Earnhardt won five consecutively from 1990-94. …. The last driver to win both the Xfinity race and the Daytona 500 was Kevin Harvick (2007). 

Former series champion Joe Nemechek has made the most starts (25) in the race. He also holds the record for most pole positions (four). 

Tony Stewart’s two wins from the pole is most all-time. 

The most drivers to lead the race is 20 (2013). 

The most lead changes is 38 (2012). 

The lowest starting position for a race winner is 42nd by Chad Little in 1995. 

NASCAR Hall of Famer Darrell Waltrip holds the record (162.675 mph) for the fastest lap in race (1978). The fastest qualifying lap is 194.389 mph set by Tommy Houston in 1987.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.