What To Look For In The Daytona Truck Race

Johnny Sauter


Defending winner Johnny Sauter became the winningest driver in this event last year scoring his third victory – all in the last six years.

Two-time series champion Matt Crafton holds the record for most starts (18).

Joe Ruttman holds the record for winning the most pole positions (2000 and 2001).

Four drivers have won from pole position: Ruttman (2001), Mark Martin (2006), Jack Sprague (2007) and Kaz Grala (2017).

The most different leaders in a single race is 17.  The most lead change is 31.

The lowest starting position for a race winner is 36th (Bobby Hamilton in 2005).

The most laps led in a race is 59 set by Mike Wallace in 2000.

The closest Margin of Victory is .016-seconds in Kyle Busch’s 2014 win over Timothy Peters.

Ty Dillon holds the record for fastest qualifying lap (188.774 mph in 2015).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.