Pocono NXS Race: What To Look For

Rush Hour @ LVMS

NASCAR Xfinity Series

Next Race: Pocono Green 225 recycled by J.P. Mascaro & Sons

The Place: Pocono Raceway

The Date: Sunday, June 28

The Time: 12:30 p.m. ET

TV: FS1, 12:30 p.m. ET

Radio: MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio

Distance: 225 miles (90 Laps); Stage 1 (Ends on Lap 20),

Stage 2 (Ends on Lap 40), Final Stage (Ends on Lap 90)

2019 Winner: Cole Custer

What To Watch For:

This weekend will be the fifth NASCAR Xfinity Series race held at Pocono Raceway, dating back to the inaugural event on June 4, 2016 – the series’ first race was won by Kyle Larson, driving for Chip Ganassi Racing. The four previous Xfinity Series races at Pocono have produced three different pole winners (Erik Jones 2016, Kyle Benjamin 2017 and Cole Custer 2018, 2019) and four different race winners (Kyle Larson 2016, Brad Keselowski 2017, Kyle Busch 2018, Cole Custer 2019). Custer is the only one of the four winners to accomplish the feat from the pole.

None of the previous four winners are entered this weekend at Pocono.

The youngest series winner at Pocono is Cole Custer (06/01/2019 – 21 years, 4 months, 9 days) and the oldest is Brad Keselowski (06/10/2017 – 33 years, 3 months, 29 days).

A total of 10 drivers entered in this race have made all four previous series starts at Pocono.

Kyle Busch, Kyle Larson and Cole Custer lead the series in top fives at Pocono with two each.

Of the four Xfinity races at Pocono the 2017 race had the most lead changes (12) and the 2016 race had the fewest (six). Last season’s race 10 lead changes and holds the series record at Pocono for the most cautions (seven) and the closest margin of victory at 0.266-second.

All five 2020 Sunoco Rookie of the Year contenders will be making their series track debuts at Pocono Raceway this weekend.

Pocono Raceway will also be hosting the last installment of the Dash 4 Cash program. Four drivers will battle it out with $100,000 prize going to the highest finisher. This weekend’s Dash 4 Cash qualifiers are Justin Haley, Ross Chastain, Alex Labbe and Austin Cindric.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.