Daytona 500 Qualifying

Rush hour at ISM Raceway


The front row will be set for the Feb. 16 Daytona 500.

William Byron’s work extended the Hendrick Motorsports team’s pole-winning run to five consecutive years (Jeff Gordon, 2015, Chase Elliott, 2016 and 2017, Alex Bowman 2018 and Byron 2019).

Hendrick Motorsports has won nine Daytona 500 pole positions in the last 20 years – most in the series during that time.

The pole position is the winningest starting position in the Daytona 500 field (nine winners).

The last pole winner to win the race was Dale Jarrett in 2000.

Chase Elliott is the youngest driver to win the Daytona 500 pole position (20 years, two months and 17 days).

Elliott is the last driver to win consecutive Daytona 500 poles (2016-17).

Ken Schrader was the previous driver to win consecutive pole positions – earning three in a row from 1988-90. Elliott’s father, NASCAR Hall of Famer Bill Elliott won three in a row from 1985-87.

Cale Yarborough (1968, 70, 78, 84), Buddy Baker (1967, 73, 79, 80) and Bill Elliott (1985, 86, 87 and 2001) share the record for most Daytona 500 poles at four each.

Yarborough (1968, ’84) and Elliott (1985, ’87) share the record for most Daytona 500 wins from the pole position with two each.

Chevrolet has won the Daytona 500 pole position in 11 of the last 12 years. Carl Edwards put Ford on the Daytona 500 pole in 2012 – the one exception in that span. …

Bill Elliott holds the record for the fastest Daytona 500 pole-winning speed – 210.364 mph – set in 1976. …

Three of Elliott’s four Daytona 500 pole positions came at a speed in excess of 200 mph (1985-87). …

Only five rookies have won the Daytona 500 pole position – Loy Allen (1994), Mike Skinner (1997), Jimmie Johnson (2002), Danica Patrick (2013), Austin Dillon (2014) and Chase Elliott (2016).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.