Key Things To Look For In The TicketGuardian 500k

Kevin Harvick

Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series

Next Race: TicketGuardian 500

Defending race winner: Kevin Harvick

The Place: ISM Raceway (Phoenix, Arizona)

The Date: Sunday, March 10

The Time: 3:30 p.m. ET


Radio: MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio

Distance: 312 miles (312 laps); Stage 1 (Ends on lap 75),

Stage 2 (Ends on lap 150), and Final Stage (Ends on lap 312)

What to Watch For: A victory Sunday would make defending winner Kevin Harvick only the sixth driver in history to score double digit victories (10) at a track.

Jimmie Johnson has the next highest win total of four.

There have seven different winners in the last seven ISM Raceway races. Harvick has won back-to-back races at the track twice before – sweeping the 2006 season and winning four consecutively from Fall, 2013-Spring, 2015.

The pole winner has won the race five times. Only two active drivers have accomplished the feat – Kevin Harvick in the Spring of 2015 and Johnson in the Fall of 2005.

In eight of the last 10 races, the winner has started 10th or better.

Ricky Rudd came from the farthest back in the starting field (29th in 1995) to win.

Toyota, Chevrolet and Ford each have two wins in the last six races. …. Hendrick Motorsports is the winningest team at Phoenix with 10 victories. Roush-Fenway Racing has eight victories.

Chase Elliott and Kyle Larson lead all active drivers in best average starting position (sixth).

Chevrolet leads all manufacturers with 24 wins. Ford is next with 16.

There are seven former ISM Raceway winners in the field. In addition to Harvick and Johnson, Ryan Newman (2) and Kyle Busch (2) have multiple wins.

Newman’s last career victory came at Phoenix in 2017. He leads all active drivers in starts (31) at the track.

Kyle Busch won in the Fall, 2005 and Fall, 2018 marking the longest span in between victories at ISM Raceway.

There have been 15 lead changes in three of the last four races, including both in 2018.

Recent NASCAR Hall of Fame inductee, 1992 Cup champion Alan Kulwicki won the very first Phoenix race in 1988.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.