Dixon Focuses On Gateway

Scott Dixon
No. 9 PNC Bank Honda

“It’s becoming a very tight and interesting championship; I’d say one of the best of recent years. It was definitely a difficult race for us last year. Alex and myself got caught up in the same accident, but we were able to get back out and repair the car. Hopefully, it will be a much cleaner weekend for us and all three of us fighting for the championship. We will be doing our best to try and remain in the hunt with two races to go after St. Louis. It’s definitely getting pretty spicy and exciting. This is what the team is made for and hopefully one of us can get that trophy and keep it back at home.”

Six-time champion Scott Dixon has kicked things into high gear in the second half of the 2022 NTT INDYCAR SERIES season and sits six points behind the leader with just three races remaining.

Dixon was undoubtedly strong in the first half, but he has recently dialed into the pace, expertise and consistency that helped propel him to those six previous titles. Since the start of July, Dixon has led the field in wins, average finish, top-5’s and positions gained from the start to finish of those six races.

In that time, Dixon has vaulted from 6th to 2nd on the points leaderboard and moved past Mario Andretti for the 2nd-most wins in INDYCAR SERIES history. If he can capitalize on his current climb and win a 7th series championship, he would make history again by matching A.J. Foyt for the most titles in the sport’s history.

The 260-lap contest will feature two fresh looks across the Ganassi Hondas. Marcus Ericsson and the No. 8 team will don a new Bryant red, while Alex Palou will make his return to The American Legion’s red, white and blue livery. Ericsson boasts a 100% win rate in the Bryant scheme thanks to his debut with the partner on the Streets of Nashville in 2021.

Get Up To Speed

Dixon has led 6,520 laps in his career, the 4th-most in INDYCAR SERIES history (Mario Andretti: 7,595; Michael Andretti: 6,692; A.J. Foyt: 6,621).

Dixon boasts 191 all-time top-5 finishes, 2nd-most in INDYCAR SERIES history (Mario Andretti: 193).
Dixon is the sole CGR driver to win at WWTR (2020) since the series returned to the track in the 2017 season. Dixon’s 2020 win featured the most drivers on the lead lap (16) and the fewest caution laps (4) among INDYCAR SERIES track history. Alex Zanardi and Juan Pablo Montoya are the only other CGR drivers to win an INDYCAR SERIES race at WWTR, doing so in the CART series during the 1998 and 2000 seasons.

Ericsson will look to re-gain the points lead and become the first driver to win both the Indianapolis 500 and the series championship in the same season since Dario Franchitti in 2010.

Ericsson has recorded the most on-track passes (240) and the most position passes (158) of any driver in the 2022 NTT INDYCAR SERIES season.

Ericsson and the No. 8 crew have improved on ovals each year he’s been with the team, thanks to an increased emphasis on oval improvement this past offseason, working closely with Dario Franchitti and watching hours of on-board footage of Scott Dixon. Ericsson’s boasts a field-leading average oval finish with of 4.5 this season after posting averages of 12.8 in 2021 and 16.2 in 2020.

Ericsson has gained the most positions among the field over the course of the 4 oval races this season (+28).

Alex Palou earned a podium finish (P3) last race on the Streets of Nashville, his fifth of the season. Palou has impressively secured a podium finish in 13-of-30 (43%) with Chip Ganassi Racing.

Jimmie Johnson returns to an oval for the first time since the Iowa doubleheader. In Iowa Race 1, Johnson executed 57 on-track passes, the most among all drivers in the race and the 3rd-most by anyone this season in a single race (O’Ward/Newgarden).

Chip Ganassi Racing drivers rank 2-3-4 in terms of average finishing position this season (Power: 6.4; Dixon: 6.5; Ericsson: 7.9; Palou: 8.1).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.