Chandler Smith Wins The Lucas 150 At Phoenix

Kyle Busch Motorsport’s Chandler Smith finalized his NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Sunoco Rookie of the Year honor with a huge walk-off win in Friday night’s season finale at Phoenix Raceway – earning the victory by a healthy 4.674-seconds over Halmar Friesen Racing’s Stewart Friesen.

The win was the second of the 19-year old’s young career, matching a victory at Bristol (Tenn.) Motor Speedway in September. His hard work was not only a race trophy, but the season’s top rookie honors over fellow Playoff driver Carson Hocevar, who finished 10th at Phoenix.

It marked the 10th win of the season for Kyle Busch Motorsports and the 90th of the team’s tenure in the series.

“First and foremost, all glory to the man upstairs,” Smith said, adding. “He blessed me with a great family just being around great people and being able to compete in high-tier equipment, I’m just really blessed right now.”

Smith completed the season with nine top-10 finishes, six top-five finishes and the two wins. He led 213 laps.

Check out the results of the Lucas Oil 150 at Phoenix.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.