NTT DATA Adds Another Prize For The Indy 500 Winner

The winner of Sunday’s 105th running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge will buckle up one more time the following morning after celebrating their prestigious accomplishment.

NTT DATA, part of the NTT family of companies, will present the Indianapolis 500 winner with a custom-made, sterling silver belt buckle highlighted by three types of 14-karat gold during Monday’s media photo shoot on the yard of bricks at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. The event begins at 9 a.m. on the speedway’s famed start/finish line.

“The integration of quality, performance, precision, technology and collaborative team skills is a winning formula for success – one that is representative of NTT DATA’s brand – making this an ideal long-standing partnership for us,” said Margo Cooke, Vice President, Brand, Creative, Events & Sponsorships for NTT DATA. “Since starting this tradition 11 years ago, we’ve been honored to celebrate one of the lifetime accomplishments in sports by presenting the winning driver with a distinctive keepsake that is part of the Indianapolis 500 lore.”

The oversized belt buckle features 14-karat gold accents in three variations – yellow gold for the background, white gold for the border and rose gold accents. The background has bricks in yellow gold as well as the race event name and date. The yellow gold “INDY 500” is overlayed across the speedway’s Pagoda building. The outline of the iconic structure is highlighted by rose gold as is the speedway’s traditional wing and wheel logo. The hand-crafted belt buckle is produced by A Cut Above Buckles, based in Murrieta, Calif.

This will be the 12th consecutive year that NTT DATA presents the Indianapolis 500 winner with the buckle, dating to 2010 when Dario Franchitti won his first of two. His other came in 2012. The other Indy 500 winners who have earned the “NTT DATA Buckle Award” are Dan Wheldon (2011), Tony Kanaan (2013), Ryan Hunter-Reay (2014), Juan Pablo Montoya (2015), Alexander Rossi (2016), Takuma Sato (2017, ’20), Will Power (2018) and Simon Pagenaud (2019).

NTT DATA also is a proud partner of Chip Ganassi Racing, which includes being the primary sponsor of the No. 10 NTT DATA Honda for Alex Palou and the Official IT Services Partner for the organization. The company also has varied levels of sponsorship with CGR drivers Scott Dixon, Tony Kanaan and Jimmie Johnson. NTT, the parent company of NTT DATA, serves as the entitlement sponsor for the NTT INDYCAR SERIES and recently announced a multi-year extension of that agreement.

The 105th running of the Indianapolis 500 will be held Sunday with the green flag waving at 12:45 p.m. ET on NBC. For additional insight and information on “The Greatest Spectacle in Racing,’’ download the INDYCAR Mobile App powered by NTT DATA on Google Play or the Apple App Store today.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.