Matthew Greasley To Rahal Letterman Lanigan

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing (RLL) announced today that veteran engineer Matthew Greasley has joined the team as race engineer for 2020 Indianapolis 500 champion, Takuma Sato. Greasley spent the past seven years with Carlin Motorsport Ltd. as a race engineer for programs in the NTT INDYCAR SERIES, Indy Lights, Formula E and European F3. While focused on the INDYCAR SERIES program from 2018-2020, he worked with drivers Charlie Kimball, Patricio O’Ward, Conor Daly and Max Chilton.

“We are pleased to welcome Matt to the RLL team,” said Tom German, technical director for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing. “We expect his diverse experience to add notable value to RLL’s development and race engineering efforts.  From our first conversation, we knew Matt was an excellent fit for our competitive-collaborative culture.  We are looking forward to an exciting 2021 INDYCAR season.”

Season highlights for Takuma Sato include his highest Indianapolis 500 starting position of third, his second Indy 500 victory, a second-place finish in Race 1 of the Bommarito 500 and pole for Race 2. Sato earned a career-best seventh place finish in INDYCAR SERIES standings.  Eddie Jones, Sato’s race engineer at RLL since 2018, retired from the sport after the conclusion of the 2020 INDYCAR SERIES season.

“It’s a fantastic opportunity to come to a very established, successful team,” added Matt Greasley.  “I’m looking forward to working with Takuma, particularly on the back of winning another Indy 500. It will be fantastic to work with everyone at the team and continue to build upon the success they had this season.”

About Matthew Greasley
Greasley earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Mechanical Engineering from University of Hertfordshire. He got his start in racing at Jordan Grand Prix in 1994 in the model shop through a voluntary placement while at college. His university placement year was spent at Tyrrell in 1996-1997 focusing on composite design. He started his professional racing career at TWR Arrows Formula One Team as a composite design engineer from 1998-1999 before he moved to Formula 3000 with Kid Jensen Racing (1999-2000) and Fortec Motorsport (2000-2001) as race engineer. He was a composite design engineer on the new Lancer WRC project for Mitsubishi Ralliart in 2001 before becoming a motorsport consultant for Staubli Unimation Limited from 2001-2005. He formed his own engineering  consulting company in 2005 to offer services for various championships and organizations such as Carlin Motorsport (2014-2020: INDYCAR, Indy Lights, Formula E, European F3), Sebah Automotive – Rebellion Racing (2012-2013: WEC 2012 Champion), Carlin Motorsport Ltd. (2011: World Series by Renault Champion with Wickens), Status Grand Prix (2010-2013: GP3), Carlin Motorsport Ltd. (2006-2009: World Series by Renault and British F3), Red Bull Junior (2009: driver coach and race engineer in Formula 2), Strakka Racing (2009: LPM1), A1GP (2005-2008: Season’s 1-3) and Fortec Motorsport (2005: British F3).

About Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, based in Hilliard, Ohio and Brownsburg, Ind., is co-owned by three-time IndyCar Champion and 1986 Indianapolis 500 winner Bobby Rahal, former CBS Late Show host David Letterman and Mi-Jack co-owner Mike Lanigan. In 2020, the team is in the midst of their 29th year of open wheel competition and has 29 wins – including the 2004 Indy 500 from pole with Buddy Rice and the 2020 Indy 500 with Takuma Sato — their 33 poles, 107 podium finishes and 1992 series championship.  The team also competed in the American Le Mans Series from 2009-2013 as BMW Team RLL where they won both the Manufacturer and Team Championships in the GT category in 2010 and swept all three GT titles in 2011 – Manufacturer, Team and Driver. In 2012, the team finished second in the Team Championship and third in the Manufacturer Championship and in 2013, the team finished second in the Driver, Team and Manufacturer Championship. Since 2014, BMW Team RLL has competed in the GTLM class of the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship with a two-car program and has brought their total to 22 wins – including the 2019 and 2020 Rolex 24 at Daytona endurance races, 28 poles and 87 podium finishes as well as a second place finish in the Manufacturer, Team and Driver championships in 2015 and 2017.  


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.