Larson Does It Again!

Kyle Larson

Forced to track down one of Pennsylvania’s finest, Elk Grove, California’s Kyle Larson continued his open wheel winning ways on Friday night during a visit to the world-famous Williams Grove Speedway in Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania, this time claiming the annual Tommy Hinnershitz Classic for a $5,000 payday over a stacked field of Ollie’s Bargain Outlet All Star Circuit of Champions presented by Mobil 1, World of Outlaws and Pennsylvania Posse competitors.

Larson’s route to Williams Grove Speedway victory lane did not come easy, as the now eight-time Series winner in 2020 did not take command for the first time until lap 27, ultimately using lapped traffic within the final five circuits to hunt down race-long leader Anthony Macri before driving around the familiar No. 39M between turns three and four on lap 27. Certainly no stranger to the Williams Grove half-mile, Larson put himself in striking distance on lap 22, utilizing momentum and a diving move across the bottom of turn three to take second away from Kerry Madsen.

Macri, who led from the drop of the green before losing command to Larson, held on to finish second in the Tommy Hinnershitz Classic main event, followed by Kerry Madsen, David Gravel and Daryn Pittman.

“This is pretty cool. Anytime you can win over a field like this is pretty special, especially at Williams Grove Speedway,” Kyle Larson said, driver of the Paul Silva-owned/Finley Farms/Tarlton and Sons/Durst/Lucas Oil/No. 57 sprint car. “I thought we were pretty good all night. Once we got to halfway, I knew it was time to pick it up a little bit if we wanted to be there at the end. I was able to carry a lot of speed through the corners and that really helped us out, even when we got into some traffic. Paul Silva does a pretty awesome job getting these cars to drive to well. Hopefully we can keep this going.”

Before Larson made his presence known, Macri was forced to deal with Kerry Madsen. Madsen, aboard the Killer Instinct Crossbows No. 2M, got away second after the initial start and maintained a steady distance from Macri until the frontrunners found traffic for the first time on lap eight. Forced to check up and lose momentum, Madsen took advantage and gained ground on Macri, eventually racing himself to a car length by the completion of lap nine.

Even after a caution on lap 16, which allowed Macri to restart with a clear track and clean air ahead, Madsen kept himself in contention, actually trying to slide Macri on lap 17, and again on lap 19. Although both attempts failed, the slider exchanges allowed Larson to enter the picture by lap 22.

With eight Series victories thus far in 2020, Kyle Larson is now on top of the wins leaderboard. Two-time and defending All Star champion, Aaron Reutzel, is second with seven.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.