Kyle Larson Pockets Over $15,554 At Portsmouth

Kyle Larson

‘Young Money’ Kyle Larson was certainly ‘money’ on Friday night during the annual Dean Knittel Memorial at Portsmouth Raceway Park, not only scoring his second Cometic Gasket Ohio Sprint Speedweek presented by Hercules Tires main event win in four tries, but the Elk Grove, California-native secured $15,554 in the process, simultaneously bumping his 2020 Ollie’s Bargain Outlet All Star Circuit of Champions presented by Mobil 1 season win count to six.

Starting from the pole position by way of dash result, Larson was nearly untouchable during the 30-lap contest, escaping to a hefty advantage right from the drop of the green flag. The driver of the Paul Silva-owned/Tarlton and Sons/Lucas Oil/Durst/Finley Farms/No. 57 sprint car reached slower cars by lap five, and although a few near-close calls with lapped traffic may have forced Larson to tap the brake pedal, his momentum never shifted, still placing two to three lapped cars between himself and second-place running Aaron Reutzel.

The main event’s first and only caution, occurring with five laps remaining, did give Reutzel an opportunity to restart on the back bumper of Larson, but it did not matter. The Clute, Texas-native was forced to settle for second, followed by Brock Zearfoss, Shane Stewart, and Cole Duncan.

With all bonuses considered, Kyle Larson collected upwards of $18,000 at Portsmouth, as extra money was awarded for his respective dash victory, as well as his overall fast time during qualifying time trials and for leading lap 15 during the 30-lap feature.

“It doesn’t matter what kind of pace you set, Aaron (Reutzel) seems to find a way to match what you’re doing, so I was trying to go as hard as I could,” Kyle Larson said in Portsmouth victory lane. “It was good to hold on and get another big payday.

“I was hoping we weren’t going to catch traffic again, but we ended up reaching the back anyhow,” Larson said of his restart with five laps remaining. “But what makes these cars fun is that we don’t have mirrors, so it makes you a little nervous of what’s going on behind you. Just another great race car. And thanks to all of you who help out on this car. We certainly couldn’t do it without each and every one of you. And thanks to all of you fans. This place is really neat and I’m glad I got the chance to race here.”

What’s Next:
Tony Stewart’s Ollie’s Bargain Outlet All Star Circuit of Champions presented by Mobil 1 will conclude the 2020 edition of Cometic Gasket Ohio Sprint Speedweek presented by Hercules Tires with a two-day stay at Sharon Speedway in Hartford, Ohio, on Friday and Saturday, July 11-12. The weekend will kick-off with the annual Lou Blaney Memorial on Saturday, followed by Justin Snyder’s Salute to the Troops on Sunday.

A-Main (30 Laps)
1. 57-Kyle Larson [1]; 2. 87-Aaron Reutzel [2]; 3. 3Z-Brock Zearfoss [4]; 4. 71-Shane Stewart [3]; 5. 22C-Cole Duncan [6]; 6. 4X-Jimmy Stinson [5]; 7. 35-Stuart Brubaker [8]; 8. 11-Zeb Wise [12]; 9. 99-Skylar Gee [13]; 10. 55-Hunter Schuerenberg [7]; 11. 13-Paul McMahan [10]; 12. 24-Rico Abreu [17]; 13. 26-Cory Eliason [9]; 14. 19R-Jordan Ryan [14]; 15. 59-Bryan Nuckles [11]; 16. 23-Cole Macedo [19]; 17. O7-Gerard McIntyre [23]; 18. 81-Lee Jacobs [15]; 19. 15K-Chad Kemenah [24]; 20. A79-Brandon Wimmer [16]; 21. 21N-Frankie Nervo [20]; 22. 12N-Joey Saldana [22]; 23. 1B-Keith Baxter [18]; 24. 17-Josh Baughman [21]; 25. 70-Sye Lynch [25]; 26. 54-Danny Smith [26]

Lap Leaders: Kyle Larson (1-30)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.