The Big Machine Hand Sanitizer 400 At Indy Preview

Martin Truex, Jr. & Kevin Harvick

Next Race: Big Machine Hand Sanitizer 400 Powered by Big Machine Records

The Place: Indianapolis Motor Speedway

The Date: Sunday, July 5

The Time: 4 p.m. ET

TV: NBC, 3:30 p.m. ET

Radio: Indianapolis Motor Speedway Radio, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio

Distance: 400 miles (160 laps); Stage 1 (Ends on Lap 50),

Stage 2 (Ends on Lap 100), Final Stage (Ends on Lap 160)

2019 Race Winner: Kevin Harvick

What To Watch For:

This weekend will mark the 27th running of a NASCAR Cup Series race at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. The first Cup race at Indianapolis Motor Speedway took place on August 6, 1994; Rick Mast won the pole with a speed of 172.414 mph and NASCAR Hall of Famer Jeff Gordon took home the checkered flag. …

The 26 NASCAR Cup Series races at Indianapolis Motor Speedway have produced 19 different pole winners and 15 different race winners.

Jeff Gordon and Kevin Harvick lead the series in poles at Indianapolis with three each.

Gordon also leads the series in wins at the Brickyard with five victories (1994, 1998, 2001, 2004, 2014).

Five former Indianapolis race winners are entered this weekend, led by seven-time series champion Jimmie Johnson with four wins (2006, 2008, 2009, 2012); followed by Kevin Harvick (2003, 2019), Kyle Busch (2015, 2016), Brad Keselowski (2018) and Ryan Newman (2013).

The youngest series race winner at Indianapolis is Jeff Gordon (08/06/1994 – 23 years, 0 months, 2 days) and the oldest is Bill Elliott (08/04/2002 – 46 years, 9 months, 27 days).

The pole position is the most proficient starting positions in the field, producing five wins. The most recent driver to accomplish the feat from the pole was Kevin Harvick last season.

In 2016, Kyle Busch became the first driver in history to sweep both the NASCAR Xfinity Series race from the pole and the NASCAR Cup Series race from the pole in the same weekend at Indianapolis.

The deepest in the field that a race winner has started at Indianapolis is 27th, by Jeff Gordon in 2001. The deepest an active race winner has started is 16th by Jimmie Johnson in 2009.

Hendrick Motorsports leads the series in wins at Indianapolis in the NASCAR Cup Series with 10; followed by Joe Gibbs Racing (five) and Richard Childress Racing (three). …

Four different manufacturers have won at Indianapolis; led by Chevrolet with 17 victories; followed by Ford (five), Toyota (two), Dodge and Pontiac each have one. Chevrolet won 12-straight from 2003-2014. …

The Indianapolis Motor Speedway NASCAR Cup Series race is considered one of NASCAR’s “crown jewel” events, and Jimmie Johnson is one of only four drivers in history to have won all four – the DAYTONA 500, the Charlotte 600, the Brickyard 400 and the Southern 500 – joining Kevin Harvick, as well as NASCAR Hall of Famers Jeff Gordon and Dale Earnhardt.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.