NXS Goes Talladega Racing

Harrison Burton & Austin Cindric

The NASCAR Xfinity Series heads to the Talladega Superspeedway for the Unhinged 300 on Saturday, June 21, 2020 at 5:30 p.m. ET (FS1, MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio).

Coming off a double-header weekend in South Florida’s Homestead-Miami Speedway, the series will hit the pavement for 300 miles of excitement and hard racing at the 2.66-mile track.

The first of the two race’s last weekend was won by Sunoco Rookie of the Year contender Harrison Burton in the No. 20 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota. The win marked the second of the season for the rookie, the first one coming at Auto Club Speedway.

Then Sunday’s Xfinity race was won by Chase Briscoe. The victory was Briscoe’s third of the season and a nice comeback after suffering a major penalty the day before as well as the ejection of his crew chief, car chief and engineer after dropping a ballast during the race’s pace laps. Greg Zipadelli stepped in as the interim crew chief and got his first Xfinity Series win atop the pit box.

Briscoe’s three wins (Las Vegas, Darlington and Homestead-Miami) are the most in the series.

However, because it was Dash 4 Cash race, Briscoe wasn’t the only winner in Miami. AJ Allmendinger, who runs a part-time schedule for Kaulig Racing, took home the $100,000 Dash 4 Cash bonus for being the highest-finishing driver (fourth) among all four Dash 4 Cash competitors. Briscoe was not in the running for the money.

Noah Gragson dominated both races at Homestead-Miami Speedway but ended up losing the front spot during late race restarts. He was also competing for the Dash 4 Cash on Sunday for the second week in a row.

Briscoe’s win at Homestead puts him in the running for this weekend’s Dash 4 Cash installment at Talladega Superspeedway along with Brandon Jones, Ross Chastain and Allmendinger.

Talladega Superspeedway is always home to some of NASCAR’s most exciting racing. The series was originally supposed to race at the superspeedway on April 25, 2020 but was postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Talladega has hosted 28 NASCAR Xfinity Series races dating back to the inaugural event in 1992 won by Ernie Irvan. The 28 races have produced 23 different race winners and 21 different pole winners. Martin Truex Jr. has the most wins at the track with three and Joe Nemechek has the most poles with five. Nemechek is tied with Joey Logano for the most top fives (seven) and leads the way in most top 10s (nine).

Chevrolet has the most wins by a manufacturer at the track with 16 and Joe Gibbs Racing has the most wins by a car owner with five victories.

Talladega has a 4,300-foot frontstretch and 4,000-foot backstretch with 33 degrees of banking in corners. There are 16.5 degrees of banking on the front and two degrees of banking on the back.

Saturday’s race will be 300.58 miles and 113 laps. The first stage will end on 25, second stage on 50 and the final stage will conclude on Lap 113.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.