What To Look For At Martinsville

Rush Hour at ISM Raceway

NASCAR Cup Series

Next Race: Blue-Emu Maximum Pain Relief 500

The Place: Martinsville Speedway

The Date: Wednesday, June 10

The Time: 7 p.m. ET

TV: FS1, 6 p.m. ET

Radio: MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio

Distance: 263 miles (500 laps); Stage 1 (Ends on Lap 130),

Stage 2 (Ends on Lap 260), Final Stage (Ends on Lap 500)

2019 Race Winner: Brad Keselowski

What To Watch For:

Opened in September of 1947 by H. Clay Earles, Martinsville Speedway, originally a dirt track, is one of the oldest continuously-operating race tracks in the United States.

There have been 142 NASCAR Cup Series races at Martinsville Speedway, one in the inaugural year (1949) and two races per year since 1950.

The first NASCAR Cup Series race at Martinsville Speedway was on Sept. 25, 1949 and won by Red Byron.

A total of 632 different drivers have competed in at least one NASCAR Cup Series race at Martinsville Speedway; 404 have competed in more than one. NASCAR Hall of Famer Richard Petty leads the NASCAR Cup Series in starts at Martinsville with 67; followed by Dave Marcis and Ricky Rudd with 55 each. Kurt Busch leads the series in starts among active drivers at Martinsville Speedway with 39; followed by Kevin Harvick and Matt Kenseth with 37 each. …

A total of 53 different NASCAR Cup Series drivers have won at Martinsville Speedway. 10 of the 53 different winners are active this weekend.

26 of the 53 different NASCAR Cup Series winners at Martinsville have won multiple times.

NASCAR Hall of Famer Richard Petty leads the NASCAR Cup Series in wins at Martinsville Speedway with 15 victories (1960, 1962, 1963, 1967 sweep, 1968, 1969 sweep, 1970, 1971, 1972 sweep, 1973, 1975, 1979). Jimmie Johnson leads the series among active drivers at Martinsville with nine victories (2004, 2006, 2007 sweep, 2008, 2009, 2012, 2013, 2016).

A total of 12 different drivers have posted their first career NASCAR Cup Series win at Martinsville Speedway; the most recent was Ricky Craven (10/15/2001).

The youngest series Martinsville winner is Richard Petty (April 10, 1960 – 22 years, 9 months, 8 days) and the oldest series Martinsville winner is Harry Gant (September 22, 1991 – 51 years, 8 months, 12 days). … Jimmie Johnson can become the third driver in series history to record 10 or more wins at more than one track with a win this weekend at Martinsville; joining NASCAR Hall of Famers Richard Petty – Martinsville (15 wins), North Wilkesboro (15), Richmond (13), Rockingham (11), Daytona (10) and Darrell Waltrip – Bristol (12), Martinsville (11), North Wilkesboro (10). Jimmie Johnson currently has nine series wins at Martinsville and 11 wins at Dover.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.