Atlanta Truck Race: What To Look For

Rush Hour at ISM Raceway

NASCAR Gander RV & Outdoors Truck Series

Next Race: Vet Tix Camping World 200

The Place: Atlanta Motor Speedway

The Date: Saturday, March 14

The Time: 1 p.m. ET

TV: FS1, 1 p.m. ET

Radio: MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio

Distance: 200.02 miles (130 Laps); Stage 1 (Ends on Lap 30),

Stage 2 (Ends on Lap 60), Final Stage (Ends on Lap 130)

2019 Winner: Kyle Busch

What To Watch For:

The Atlanta Motor Speedway has held 18 NASCAR Gander RV & Outdoors Truck Series races dating back to the inaugural event on March 13, 2004. The first series race at Atlanta in 2004 was won by car owner/driver Bobby Hamilton in a Dodge – the same season he won the series title.

The 18 Gander Truck races at Atlanta have produced 11 different pole winners, led by NASCAR Hall of Famer Ron Hornaday Jr. and Mike Skinner with three each. Two former series pole winners are entered this weekend – Kyle Busch (two poles) and Matt Crafton (one). …

The youngest Gander Truck pole winner at Atlanta is Ty Dillon (08/31/2012 – 20 years, 6 months, 4 days) and the oldest is Ron Hornaday Jr (03/06/2010 – 51 years, 8 months, 14 days). …

The Gander Trucks have also produced 13 different race winners in the 18 Atlanta races, led by Kyle Busch with five victories (2005, 2007, 2008, 2009 and 2019). Four former series winners at Atlanta are entered this weekend – Kyle Busch (five wins), Matt Crafton, Brett Moffitt and John Hunter Nemechek (each have one win). …

The youngest series race winner is John H. Nemechek (02/27/2016 – 18 years, 8 months, 16 days), who is entered this weekend, and the oldest is Ron Hornaday Jr (09/02/2011 – 53 years, 2 months, 13 days). …

Five of the 18 NASCAR Gander RV & Outdoors Truck Series races have been won from the pole or first start position. The most recent to driver to win from the pole at Atlanta was Christopher Bell in 2017. The deepest in the field a race winner has started is 18th and it has happened twice – 2005 (Ron Hornaday Jr.) and 2016 (John H. Nemechek). …

A total of 11 different truck owners have won at Atlanta Motor Speedway in the Gander Trucks, led by Billy Ballew Motorsports and Kyle Busch Motorsports with four wins each. …

Three manufacturers have won in the series at Atlanta, led by Chevrolet with nine wins; followed by Toyota (eight) and Dodge (one).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.