What To Look For At The NXS Darlington Race

Harrison Burton

NASCAR Xfinity Series

The Race: Toyota 200

The Place: Darlington Raceway

The Date: Tuesday, May 19

The Time: 8 p.m. ET

TV: FS1, 7 p.m. ET

Radio: MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio

Distance: 200 miles (147 Laps); Stage 1 (Ends on Lap 45),

Stage 2 (Ends on Lap 90), Final Stage (Ends on Lap 147)

Most Recent Winner: Cole Custer

What To Watch For: 

Darlington Raceway has hosted 59 NASCAR Xfinity Series races dating back to inaugural event in 1982. The first race held on April 3, 1982 had 23 cars in the field and was won by Geoffrey Bodine driving a Pontiac for Frank Plessinger. In total the 59 Xfinity Series races at Darlington have produced 31 different races winners, led by NASCAR Hall of Famer Mark Martin with eight victories. Denny Hamlin leads all active Xfinity Series drivers in wins at Darlington with five.

The youngest series winner at Darlington is Chase Elliott (04/11/2014 – 18 years, 4 months, 14 days) and the oldest series race winner is Dick Trickle (09/05/1998 – 56 years, 10 months, 9 days). …

The NASCAR Xfinity Series has produced 29 pole winners at Darlington Raceway, led by NASCAR Hall of Famer Mark Martin with eight. Hamlin leads all active drivers in the series in poles at Darlington with five.

Mark Martin leads the series in laps led at Darlington Raceway with 972 laps led in 19 starts. Hamlin leads all active drivers in laps led with 555 in 12 starts. …

Last season’s winner Cole Custer didn’t lead a single lap in the race but won the event by virtue of the disqualification of Denny Hamlin’s car in post-race inspection. …

Four of the last five NASCAR Xfinity Series races at Darlington Raceway have ended with margin of victory of less than a second.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.