RLLR Extend Partnership With Honda

Graham Rahal

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing (RLL) announced today that the team has extended its partnership with Honda Performance Development (HPD), who will continue to power their entries in 2020 and beyond in a multi-year deal. This season marked the 25th for the engine manufacturer in the sport after years of groundwork by Bobby Rahal led to their first season of competition in 1994.

“We are pleased to not only continue what is the longest-standing relationship our team has had but to also continue to strengthen it,” said Bobby Rahal, co-owner of Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing with David Letterman and Mike Lanigan. “We appreciate the belief Honda has put in our technical team and organization overall and our mutual respect will enable us to continue to grow as a team. The scope of the offseason projects we have lined up have us looking forward to the 2020 season and beyond as we approach the 30-year anniversary of the program in 2024.”

HPD made their Indy car racing debut in 1994 with what was then-named Rahal Hogan Racing. The partnership returned in 2003 and resulted in the first Indianapolis 500 pole and win for the manufacturer in 2004. To date the team has earned 12 wins, 13 poles and 81 top-five finishes with Honda. The team was a championship contender while ranked second going into the final race in 2015 with Graham Rahal and ended the season ranked fourth after the double-points race.

“We’re excited to continue our long and successful partnership with Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing,” said Ted Klaus, President of Honda Performance Development. “As many fans know, Bobby Rahal and his team were our first partner when Honda entered Championship Auto Racing Teams (CART) competition in 1994, joined us when Honda entered the IndyCar Series in 2003, and with driver Buddy Rice recorded our first Indianapolis 500 win in 2004. We look forward to additional success with RLL in the seasons ahead.”

On the strength of seven race wins, seven poles and 30 podium finishes [out of a possible 48] in 16 races, Honda has a 34-point lead in the 2019 NTT IndyCar Series Manufacturers’ Championship going into this weekend’s final race of the season at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca. Honda currently has 1,351 points, to 1,317 for Chevrolet. In addition, for the second year in a row, each full-time Honda team scored at least one IndyCar Series race victory in 2018, which includes two wins by RLL (Barber and St. Louis).

About Honda Performance Development
Honda Performance Development, Inc., (HPD) is Honda’s racing company in North America and is a wholly owned subsidiary of American Honda Motor Co., Inc. HPD was founded in 1993 to spearhead American Honda’s entry into Indy car racing. No other manufacturer has matched the company’s success in Indy cars, which includes 244 race victories, 16 drivers’ championships, seven competitive manufacturers’ championships and 12 Indianapolis 500 victories since 2004.

Today, HPD is the technical operations center for Honda and Acura racing programs throughout North America. HPD specializes in the design and development of race engines, chassis and performance parts, and technical/race support. For more information about HPD and the company’s racing product lines, please visit http://hpd.honda.com.

About Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, based in Hilliard, Ohio and Brownsburg, Ind., is co-owned by three-time IndyCar Champion and 1986 Indianapolis 500 winner Bobby Rahal, David Letterman and Mi-Jack co-owner Mike Lanigan. In 2019, the team is competing in their 28th year of open wheel competition and attempting to add to their 28 wins – including the 2004 Indy 500 from pole with Buddy Rice — their 32 poles, 102 podium finishes and 1992 series championship. The team also competed in the American Le Mans Series from 2009-2013 as BMW Team RLL where they won both the Manufacturer and Team Championships in the GT category in 2010 and swept all three GT titles in 2011 – Manufacturer, Team and Driver. In 2012, the team finished second in the Team Championship and third in the Manufacturer Championship and in 2013, the team finished second in the Driver, Team and Manufacturer Championship. Since 2014, BMW Team RLL has competed in the GTLM class of the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship with a two-car program and has brought their total to 20 wins, 27 poles and 76 podium finishes as well as a second place finish in the Manufacturer, Team and Driver championships in 2015 and 2017. The team also participated in the 2018/2019 Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY Series, a support series in the FIA Formula E Championship and the world’s first production-based electric vehicle race series. The two-car program earned three wins, two poles and nine podium finishes.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.