Foxwoods Resort Casino 301 Preview

Brad Keselowski

Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series

Next Race: Foxwoods Resort Casino 301

The Place: New Hampshire Motor Speedway

The Date: Sunday, July 21

The Time: 3 p.m. ET

TV: NBCSN, 2:30 p.m. ET

Radio: PRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio

Distance: 318.46 miles (301 laps); Stage 1 (Ends on Lap 75),

Stage 2 (Ends on Lap 150), Final Stage (Ends on Lap 301)

2018 Race Winner: Kevin Harvick

What to Watch For:

Jeff Burton is the all-time winningest driver at New Hampshire with four victories. There are six active drivers with three wins each – Denny Hamlin, Jimmie Johnson, Kevin Harvick, Kyle Busch, Kurt Busch and Ryan Newman.

Ryan Newman has won the most pole positions (7) all-time – more than double that of any other active driver. Brad Keselowski and Kyle Busch have each won three poles. Keselowski is the only current Cup driver to score his career first pole position at New Hampshire.

Rusty Wallace won the first Cup race at New Hampshire in July, 1993.

Current Cup drivers Joey Logano, Ryan Preece, B.J. McLeod, and Corey LaJoie all made their first Cup starts at the track.

Six times a driver a has won consecutive pole positions. Ryan Newman is the most recent to do so, sweeping the 2011 season races.

Chevrolet has won the most poles (18).

Only three drivers have won back-to-back races – including Jimmie Johnson (2003 season sweep), Kurt Busch (2004 season sweep) and Matt Kenseth (Fall, 2015, Spring, 2016).

Joey Logano is the youngest winner in track history – aged 19 years, one month and nine days when he won in June, 2009.

Five drivers scored their career first Cup win at New Hampshire, including current drivers Joey Logano (June, 2009), Clint Bowyer (September, 2007) and Ryan Newman (September, 2002).

The pole position is the most proficient starting spot in the field, producing six winners. The most recent polesitter to win was Kyle Busch in 2017.

The farthest back on the grid a winner has started is 38th – Jeff Burton in 1999.

Joe Gibbs Racing holds the record for most wins at New Hampshire with 11.

Chevrolet is the winningest manufacturer (19). Among the current makes, Ford has 14 wins and Toyota has nine.

Tony Stewart has the most runner-up finishes all-time (six). Denny Hamlin and Kyle Busch each have four – most among active drivers.

Jeff Gordon holds the all-time mark for top fives (16) and top 10s (24). Kevin Harvick and Kyle Busch lead active drivers with 11 top-five finishes. Jimmie Johnson leads active drivers with 22 top 10s.

The closest Margin of Victory at New Hampshire is .068-second when Denny Hamlin edged Jeff Gordon in July, 2007.

Jeff Gordon has led the most laps in history at New Hampshire (1,373). Kyle Busch (1,010) leads all active drivers and is third all-time.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.