What To Look For At The All-Star Race

Jimmie Johnson

What to Watch For: 

Jimmie Johnson is the all-time winningest driver in the race with four victories. His 6.824 average finish in 17 starts is best among those drivers with at least nine starts.

Seven drivers have won the All-Star race and then the Coca-Cola 600 at Charlotte in the same year. Jimmie Johnson (2003) and Kurt Busch (2010) are the only active drivers to do so.

Five drivers have won the All-Star race and the Monster Energy Series championship in the same year. Johnson is the only active driver to do so – winning both in 2006 and 2013. NASCAR Hall of Famers Jeff Gordon (1995, 97, 2001) and the late Dale Earnhardt (1987, 1990, ’93) did it a record three times each.

Defending race winner Kevin Harvick has two wins and is tied with Ken Schrader for most runner-ups (three) in the race.

Only one time in 34 All-Star races has the event been held somewhere other than Charlotte Motor Speedway. In 1986, the race was held in Atlanta and Georgia native Bill Elliott won. That race also marked the most dominating win in All-Star history. Elliott led 82 of 83 laps.

Three times a driver has won the All-Star race before scoring his first regular season Cup win.

Ryan Newman is the only driver to win the All-Star race and The Open in the same year (2002). He also holds the mark for winning from the farthest starting position (27th) on the grid.

Kasey Kahne is the only driver to gain entry into the All-Star race via the Fan Vote then go on to win the race.

Hendrick Motorsports holds the record most All-Star wins (eight) and laps led (711). It also holds the record for most consecutive years (19) to send at least three cars to the race. Currently two cars – Johnson and Chase Elliott – are in the All-Star race. Hendrick drivers William Byron and Alex Bowman would need to qualify through The Open.

Sterling Marlin holds the record for wins (four) in The Open.

Kyle Busch is one of only four drivers – and the only active driver – to win consecutive All-Star race pole positions (2011-12). His three total poles is most among active drivers.

Mark Martin (24) has the most All-Star starts all-time. Harvick has the most (18) among active drivers.

Harvick’s 0.141-second win over Johnson in 2007 is the closest Margin of Victory in All-Star history. … Darrell Waltrip was the first winner of the All-Star race in 1985.

Five times the first starting position has won the All-Star race. Denny Hamlin was the last to do so in 2015.

The winningest starting positions are first, second and fourth. Five times a winner has started there.

Chevrolet (17) is the winningest manufacturer in this event. Ford has 12 wins and Toyota has two.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.