What To Look For In The Production Alliance Group 300

Kyle Busch

Xfinity Series

Next Race: Production Alliance Group 300

Defending Race Winner: Joey Logano

The Place: Auto Club Speedway

The Date: Saturday, March 16

The Time: 5 p.m. ET


Radio: MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio

Distance: 300 miles (150 laps); Stage 1 (Ends on lap 35),

Stage 2 (Ends on lap 70), and Final Stage (Ends on lap 150)

What to Watch For: 

There have been five different winners in the last five races. …

Last year 2018 Cup champion Joey Logano won but there were eight Xfinity Series regulars among the top-10, led by race runner-up Justin Allgaier.

Logano has three victories and is one of six drivers to score multiple wins at the track. Kyle Busch has the most trophies (6) followed by Matt Kenseth (4), Greg Biffle (3), Logano (3) and Kyle Larson (2). …

Busch, Logano and Larson have combined to win 11 of the last 13 races. …

The last Xfinity fulltime drivers to win at the track were Scott Riggs in 2002 and Hank Parker Jr.  in 2001. …

Austin Dillon won in 2016 leading only the last lap – a similar scene to his 2018 Daytona 500 triumph when he led only the checkered flag lap. …

A victory for Kyle Busch on Saturday would give him 200 wins in NASCAR’s three major series. He could leave NASCAR’s West Coast swing with 201 wins as he’s swept the Auto Club Speedway races before (2013). …

Three times drivers have won back-to-back races at Fontana – Kyle Busch’s three straight (2010-11) is a high mark. Biffle swept the 2004 season races and Kenseth won in 1999-2000 – making him the only driver to win in two centuries. …

This facility has seen multiple winning streaks from manufacturers. Chevrolet won four straight races from 1998-2001, Ford won seven straight from 2002-06 and Toyota set a record with nine consecutive Auto Club Speedway victories from 2008-2013. Chevrolet answered that with a string of four wins (2014-2017) snapped by Logano’s win for Ford last year. …

John Hunter Nemechek leads the Sunoco Rookie of the Year Standings by 10 points over Noah Gragson and 24 points over Justin Haley. Nemechek is the only one among the five-driver rookie class with a previous Auto Club Speedway start. He finished 29th last year after getting caught in a multi-car accident.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.