The Founder Of Wood Brothers Racing, Glen Wood, Passes Away

Image result for GLEN WOOD

NASCAR Hall of Famer Glen Wood, who founded Wood Brothers Racing in 1953, has died. He was 93.

Wood Brothers Racing made the announcement of Wood’s passing Friday on social media.

While Wood won four times as a driver, the team — which is now run by sons Eddie and Len and daughter Kim — has won 99 times, most recently with Ryan Blaney behind the wheel in 2017. NASCAR’s longest-active team, Wood Brothers racing has won at least one race in seven consecutive decades.

Known as “Woodchopper” early in his career because he owned a sawmill, Wood’s four wins behind the wheel came at Bowman-Gray Stadium in North Carolina, a short drive from the team’s home in Stuart, Virginia. Wood, though, is in the Hall for what his team accomplished when he turned the driving over to others.

David Pearson won 43 times with the Wood Brothers between 1972 and ’78, including 11 wins in just 18 races in ’73 and 10 wins in 22 starts three seasons later. Pearson’s biggest win with the team was the ’76 Daytona 500, when Pearson limped across the finish line after colliding with Richard Petty on the last lap.

The Wood Brothers also won the Daytona 500 in 1963 (with driver Tiny Lund), in ’68 (Cale Yarborough), in ’72 (AJ Foyt) and 2011 (Trevor Bayne).

Wood was inducted in the Hall of Fame in 2012, followed by brother Leonard — the team’s longtime crew chief — a year later. Three other brothers — Delano, Clay and Ray Lee — also had roles with the team through the years.

“It’s such a long trip from 1950 to now. It’s sort of hard to believe,” Glen Wood said when he was announced as a Hall inductee. “It’s one of the biggest honors you could have. I didn’t come here alone; I had a lot of help. There’s five of us brothers. All of those helped at one time or another.”

The 2018 Daytona 500 marked an end of an era as it was the first time Glen Wood missed Speedweeks since 1946. The 71-year streak of attending Speedweeks began in ’47 when Wood traveled to Florida with his future father-in-law and future brother-in-law.

Glen Wood eventually raced on the beach/road course at Daytona, winning the final three Sportsman division races from the pole, and at Daytona International Speedway.

“It’s hard to believe that for 71 years I haven’t been sick or injured or something,” he said. “It’s quite a feat to do that for so long.”

In addition to Pearson, Lund, Yarborough, Foyt, Bayne and Blaney, the team’s other winning drivers have been, Speedy Thompson, Marvin Panch, Dan Gurney, Curtis Turner, Donnie Allison, Neil Bonnett, Buddy Baker, Kyle Petty, Dale Jarrett, Morgan Shepherd and Elliott Sadler.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.