Will Power Wins The Pole For The Honda Indy 200 At Mid-Ohio

Will Power


  • Will Power won the Verizon P1 Award for Sunday’s Honda Indy 200 in Verizon IndyCar Series qualifying on Saturday.
  • This is Power’s fifth pole win of the 2017 season also having won at St. Petersburg, Barber Motorsports Park, the road course at Indianapolis Motor Speedway and Iowa Speedway.
  • The pole is the 49th of his INDYCAR career (6 CC/43 IRL/IC), which ties him with Bobby Unser for fifth on the all-time poles-won list for the series. He is one shy of tying Team Penske teammate Helio Castroneves, who occupies the third position with 50.
  • Forty-three of his 49 career poles have come as a Team Penske driver.
  • It is Power’s third pole win at Mid-Ohio with the others coming in 2010 and 2012 and his sixth straight front-row start at 2.258-mile road course.
  • This is the ninth pole for Team Penske in 2017 (Power – 5, Castroneves – 3 and Pagenaud – 1)
  • Team Penske has won 20 of 29 poles dating back to last year.
  • Teammate Josef Newgarden qualified the No. 2 PPG Chevrolet second and will start alongside Power on the front row which will be the fifth time this season that Team Penske entrants have occupied the top-two starting positions.
  • Scott McLaughlin also won the pole for the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship’s Ipswich Supersprint and followed it up with his sixth race win of the season.
  • This is the 254th Verizon IndyCar Series pole win in the history of Team Penske and the 530th pole for the organization, overall.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.