Will Power Wins the IndyCar Grand Prix Pole

Will Power

Here are some interesting notes regarding Will Power’s pole winning qualifying run for the IndyCar Grand Prix.

  • Will Power won the pole for Saturday’s INDYCAR Grand Prix on the road course at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.
  • This is Power’s third Verizon P1 Pole Award of the 2017 season also having won at St. Petersburg and Barber Motorsports Park.
  • The pole is the 47th of his INDYCAR career (6 CC/41 IRL/IC), placing him fifth on the all-time poles lists. He is two away from tying his Team Penske teammate, Helio Castroneves and Bobby Unser, for third all-time.
  • 41 of those career poles have come as a Team Penske driver.
  • It is Power’s second Verizon P1 Pole Award on the road course at IMS with the first coming in 2015.
  • This is the third pole for Team Penske in the four INDYCAR Grand Prix events (Power – 2, Simon Pagenaud – 1)
  • Team Penske has won all five poles this season and 16 of 21 poles dating back to last year.
  • Power, Castroneves and Josef Newgarden will start 1-2-3 in Saturday’s race with Juan Pablo Montoya and Simon Pagenaud starting from the fifth and seventh positions, respectively.
  • This is the 250th Verizon IndyCar Series pole win in the history of Team Penske and the 520th pole for the organization overall.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.