Stewart-Haas Racing Announces Changes For 2013

Ryan Newman

(WOMR file photo)

Friday morning, at the Kansas Speedway, Stewart-Haas Racing announced that they have hired a new crew chief for the #39 SHR Chevy driven by Ryan Newman.  It was noted earlier in the year that Tony Gibson, Newman’s present crew chief, would be moving over to the new race team at SHR.  That new team is the race team that SHR as assembled to support the #10 Chevy that Danica Patrick will drive.

The new crew chief that SHR has selected to lead the SHR #39 Chevy is actually going to be a deja vu moment for Newman.  Newman is going to be reunited with his former crew chief, Matt Borland, from his Penske Racing days!

Gibson will get a jump-start on the 2013 season by serving as Patrick’s crew chief during her last two Sprint Cup races of the 2012 season, Nov. 4 at Texas Motor Speedway in Fort Worth and Nov. 11 at Phoenix International Raceway. Matt Borland, currently the vice president of competition for SHR, will add to his duties by returning to the role of crew chief when he takes over the #39 team beginning at Martinsville.

Borland served as Newman’s crew chief for five years when the two were together at Penske Racing (2002-2006), earning 12 wins and 37 poles.

The 2013 structure of the #14 Bass Pro Shops/Mobil 1 team of driver/owner Tony Stewart and crew chief Steve Addington will remain unchanged from 2012.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.