Dale Jr. Starts On The Pole For The Bud Shootout


(photo courtesy Leon Hammack)

It doesn’t seem to matter where Harvick starts the 75-lap exhibition race at Daytona International Speedway. Last year he won from the second position. Two years ago he claimed his first Shootout win from 27th on the grid.  Harvick will try to win his third Bud Shootout in a row, this time starting from the 18th position.

“That’ll be all right,” Harvick said after unwrapping the No. 18 placard from the Budweiser bottle he chose in the blind qualifying draw Friday night.

Dale Earnhardt Jr., who won the 2003 and ’08 Shootouts, drew the pole for Saturday’s race.

“You knew it, didn’t you?” draw party show host Kenny Wallace asked Earnhardt after the selection.

“I did,” Earnhardt said. “We’re good.”

Three-time Shootout winner Tony Stewart starts from the outside of the front row after drawing the No. 2 position. Carl Edwards and Denny Hamlin will line up third and fourth, respectively.

The race will be run in segments of 25 and 50 laps, with a 10-minute break between. Green-flag and caution laps count toward the total.

It’s an eclectic field for the 33rd running of the race that originated as the Busch Clash. Originally, the event was an exhibition for pole winners from the previous season, but when Coors Light took over sponsorship of the Cup pole award from Budweiser, it created a conflict that necessitated a change in eligibility requirements for the Shootout.

NASCAR is still feeling its way through that process, and changes to the eligibility rules this year dramatically altered the composition of the field. All 12 Chase drivers from 2010 qualified, along with past Cup Series champions, past Budweiser Shootout winners, past winners of points races at Daytona, and Cup rookies of the year for the past 10 years.

That last provision punched the tickets of Kasey Kahne, Juan Montoya and Joey Logano, who otherwise wouldn’t have made the field. It also gave entry to Regan Smith and Kevin Conway, neither of whom has won a race in any of NASCAR’s top three series.

With the new surface that was laid down in the off season, it should make for a very fast, wild, and exciting dash for the cash Saturday night!

Here is the starting lineup for the Bud Shootout:

Budweiser Shootout

Starting Lineup
1. Dale Earnhardt Jr. 7. Clint Bowyer 13. Juan Montoya 19. Matt Kenseth
2. Tony Stewart 8. Ryan Newman 14. Jamie McMurray 20. Mark Martin
3. Carl Edwards 9. Derrike Cope 15. Jeff Burton 21. Kyle Busch
4. Denny Hamlin 10. Michael Waltrip 16. Kevin Conway 22. Joey Logano
5. Kasey Kahne 11. Greg Biffle 17. Kurt Busch 23. Jimmie Johnson
6. Bobby Labonte 12. Jeff Gordon 18. Kevin Harvick 24. Regan Smith

What is your thoughts on this new surface and the 2011 Bud Shootout?


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.